Thiruvanathqapuram , 8th April 2017

Olympian Suresh Babu Memorial 7th Kerala State Youth Athletics Championship started off well in this morning at Chandrasekaharan Nair Stadium, Thiruvanathapuram.  Olympian K M Beenamol inaugurated the championship in the evening in the presence of Smt. Lekha K C , Arjuna Awardee in Boxing and Member Administrative Committee Kerala State Sports Council, Thiruvanathapuram , Sri. Baby Mathew Somatheeram, President, Kerala State Athletics Association, Lt. Dr. George Thomas, President, Thiruvanathapuram District Athletics Association, Prof. P I Babu, secretary, Kerala State Athletics Association, Sri. M ramachandran, treasurer, Kerala State Athletics Association, and Sri. Ramachandranm Secretary, Thiruvanathapuram District Athletics Association.

Six new meet records were created in the first day. Adithya K T of Kozhikode ran a beautiful one lapper with a new timing of 57.99 sec. Aparna Roy from Kozhikode followed her to the record books with a better timing in 100mH 14.50 sec. Gayathry Sivakumar of Ernakulam raised the cross bar to 1.67 mts in high jump in the same section. All these records were in Youth Girls Under 18 section.

Abhisek Mathew of Ernakulam  in 800m (1Min 58.96 Sec.), Abhijth Rojish Nair of Ernakulam in Shot Put (16.26 Mts) and Sreeviswa M of Palakkad  in Hammer Throw (50.32 Mts)  all  in Youth Boys Under 18 section were the other new record creators of the day.

Palakkad with 90 points closely followed by the hosts Thiruvanathapuram lead the point tally in the end of the first day. The championship closes tomorrow at 3.30 pm. Sri. Sanjay kumar IFS, secretary, Kerala State Sports Council will be the guest of honour.